Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:00 am - Sunday, Apr. 28, 2002
life is good
Sat 4/27/02 8 a.m. (Offline)

(Only have about 15 minutes or so to do this...)

Kathy B. e-mailed me a short time ago, asking for details of the car, so I imagine that might be of interest to other people as well.

It's a 1990 Toyota Corolla LE (I don't know how an LE is different from other flavors of Toyota Corolla--I don't even know what "LE" stands for. "Luxury Edition"?--but there it is). It's white--I would have preferred another color, but I can certainly live with white--it has kind of a gray intererior, which is very clean, a little damage on the rear left side, which was bondo-ed over (Greg looked at it and pronounced it as "nothing", which was my thought as well), and a 101 Dalmations sticker on the back left-side window, which I'm probably going to leave there.

I don't know its official designation, but I think you'd call it a "compact"; it's small, but not the smallest car out there. In any case, it's pretty much what I said I wanted from a car out here--small and dependable--if not a step above (I was thinking I'd probably end up with a late-80s model Tercel, if I was lucky).

(END)

Just finished e-mailing Kathy B. about the car, and about how the show went last night.

I was very pleased with how the show went. It was, in everyone's estimation, the best one yet.

I don't know if it was my leaving in a huff last week, or the special rehearsal Mark called on Tuesday, which I didn't attend, or what, but I felt like we managed to marry the sincerity of the show on Friday, which was "sincere" but dull, with the "high spirits" of the show on Sunday, which was more energetic but meaningless. This time out, the little bits people were doing actually did seem like they were in the service of the show, and most important, I felt like they were connecting with me, and vice-versa; Since the whole show is about my character trying to change their way-of-thinking, the show is absolutely meaningless if you don't see that they're really listening to me, and being affected by what I say.

Anyway, it was fun. And since we're not getting paid, what else is there?

I stayed for the other show, and once again thought to myself, "Now that's a real show...".

And it's not so much because they have costumes and props and all that. I like that stuff, obviously, but it's "icing on the cake"; What really registered with me is that the show is about something. It's a story worth telling, with love, and humor, and heart, and they're telling it very, very well.

Thinking about that last night made me think about what I do this acting thing for.

It's certainly true enough that I like "being the center of attention", and that I like standing out as having some "special talent".

But once again..."icing on the cake"; The thing that really matters is getting to be part of something worth doing. Because, truth-to-tell, if it were just about "being the center of attention", it hardly gets better than my role in Crossing the Line. "Mr Bryant" is the show, essentially. But it would be more meaningful to me right now to be in a supporting role in the other show, and feel like I was involved in doing something...special.

Well, I'm having one of those times where I want to go on at length, and actually feel like I'm going to be missing something if I don't. But I'm hungry and tired and I don't have any food in the house, so I have to go out and get something to eat, then I'm going to come and lay down for a bit.

At this writing, life is good.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!