Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:54 pm - Tues 11/27/07
A Light Shade Of Blue

A Light Shade Of Blue

Tues 11/27/07 (11:44 a.m.)

(Watching Chuck that I recorded last night...)

Well, this kinda sucked; I went to M�Dears last night...and it�s closed for renovations (They bought the building next door, and are beginning an expansion).

I thought something was up when I drove by and noticed their sign was off.

I parked down the street, then saw Bernie and Tadg - from the band - standing out on the sidewalk with a couple other guys (some of my fellow �Jammers�), telling them the deal.

Now I don�t know how long this sort of thing typically takes, but I have to assume it means, at the very least, that there�ll be no jammin� for Jimmy for the rest of the year. At least not at M�Dears.

It�s pretty disappointing. Especially since it was the big reason I decided to go down to four days a week at ArcLight (Besides just wanting to be at ArcLight as little as possible); I wanted to open up my time to �jam� on a regular basis, without cutting out a day of of availability for casting workshops.

I�m trying to �look on the bright side� - when the place is up-and-running again, it�ll be big enough that I can actually invite people to come hear me play - but it�s still something of a blow, albeit a minor one (It doesn�t seem fair - I only got two weeks out of this. And besides that, I was starting to look forward to the turkey meatloaf, with the spinach, and broccoli & baby carrots).

In other news that�s making me feel a light shade of blue...looks like I didn�t get either of those tv things I went in for (I guess I could still get called today, but it�s tv, and the passage of time is not my friend here).

Even though I told myself I probably wasn�t going to get them - because you typically don�t, no matter how well you think you did - I felt hopeful in spite of myself, and I�m still disappointed (On both on the financial level and the emotional, I-need-a-win-cause-it�s-been-too-long-since-my-last-win level).

And as long as the theme seems to be �Things That Are Making Me A Little Sad�...

My neighbor Mark - I walk his dog, Lady (A 16-year-old Sheltie) - had his cat Harriet die on Thanksgiving Day (Immediately trumping any crappy Thanksgiving I�ve ever had).

Harriet was a dark, short-haired, skinny little thing, about the same age as Lady.
Sometimes, if their treats were out in plain sight, I�d give them both a snack after bringing Lady in from her walk. Or if not, I�d just spend a few moments with Harriet, petting her and scratching behind her ears (Unlike Lady, who�s utterly indifferent to such attentions, Harriet obviously enjoyed the attention).

I felt really sorry for Mark; he�s clearly a lonely guy, like me, and his two elderly pets are his closest companions.

And now, when I walked Lady today, I noticed she was looking more uncomfortable than usual. And when she went to the bathroom, her stool was very loose, and more alarmingly, very bloody. And I�m not a vet, but I know enough to know that�s not good.

So, as much as I didn�t want to, I called Mark, and left a message on his cell (If he doesn�t know about it already, I thought he should know sooner rather than later).

I just hope he doesn�t lose Lady right on the heels of losing Harriet. Cause it seems like there should be limits on what people have to deal with at one time.

Well, I could write more, but then I wouldn�t be napping...

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!