Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:51 pm - Tues 6/12/07
Pissing The Time Away

Pissing The Time Away

Tues 6/12/07 (9:25 p.m.)

Well, I guess since I had two auditions last week (and a workshop), and two auditions so far this week (and a workshop), things have �picked up�.

Doesn�t really feel like it though.

(Oh, and there�s that National Treasure II avail. Which I�m happy about, even if nothing comes of it, because it�s been a distressingly long time since I�ve had a callback or avail for anything.)

_________________________

I�ve got a Newsweek from March 19th, which I still have around because 1) I�m a pig, and 2) It had an article titled �Our Books, Ourselves�, about �baby boomers and their books�, that I�ve been meaning to mention in here at some point.

There wasn�t much to the article itself, but it was interesting to see just how much my reading life, which I always thought was fairly eclectic, has followed along �baby boomer� lines�The article was accompanied by a photo of a stack of nine books, and I�d read eight of them: Green Eggs & Ham, The Autobiography Of Malcolm X, One Flew Over The Cuckoo�s Nest, Catch 22, Catcher In The Rye, A Separate Peace, To Kill A Mockingbird, and Lord Of The Flies (The one I hadn�t read? On The Road. But I�ve bought it at least two or three times, intending to read it, if that counts for anything).

There was also a multiple-choice quiz, which I only did okay on�25 out of 34�but again, it was interesting to see how much of my reading history falls solidly along generational lines, and what odd little factoids are lodged in my brain (The Cat In The Hat uses 236 words; Truman Capote dissed On The Road by saying, �That�s not writing, that�s typing�; James Caan was the first actor to be offered the part of McMurphy in the film version of �Cuckoo�s Nest�).

I�ve never been clear whether I�m a bonafide �baby boomer� or not, because I�ve read things that put the cut-off point shortly before I was born, and others that placed it a few years after (Gee, it�s so easy to find answers on the Internet�I just checked Ask.com, and apparently, going with a couple of sources here, the �baby boomer� generation was from �46 to �64. So since I was born in �61, I�m in).

_________________________

It�s been another day off where I intended to �go out and do something�, but in the end, couldn�t rouse myself to leave the house.

Not only couldn�t I get myself to �go out and do something�, I pissed the day away without doing anything constructive, or even genuinely fun. The kind of day I look back on, and can�t figure out what I did with all that time.

I have one thing that a lot of you want�free time�but more often than not, when I have it, I can�t rouse myself to do anything meaningful, or even genuinely enjoyable, with it.

Makes me wonder how I�d handle having even less structure in my life...

_________________________

Checking out my �friends� MySpace pages the other day, and I noticed one was �friends� with Elizabeth Shue (The Karate Kid, Adventures In Babysitting, Leaving Las Vegas, etc).

So I went to her page, and was actually composing a fanboy email to her, when I looked at the top of the page and saw she hadn�t visited the site since 2005. So I guess I�ll just wait till we�re in a movie together to tell her I�m a fan (I�m not that big a fan�I�ve missed most of her movies, and have no real interest in seeing Gracie, the movie she just produced with her brother Andrew�but I really do like the three movies I mentioned earlier).

_________________________

Well, I�ve been eating sandwiches all day long today, and I�m actually tired of them, so I�m off to get something to eat that isn�t a sandwich.

Wish me luck.


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!