Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:56 am - 03.30.2009
The Right Actor For The Job
(A re-post from yesterday)

The Right Actor For The Job


(Note to Dave: Congrats on your Weight Watchers success! And I'm glad, for once, that I was "a good example" instead of "a cautionary tale"!)

Well, there's a couple bits of good news to report today...

The first bit of good news: Earlier today, I got a call from the prosecutor's office - the defendant in the hit-and-run case took a plea, so I'm done with court!

I'm very pleased about that.

The prosecutor thanked me, suggesting that seeing me in court (Along with another eyewitness, and a half dozen of his victims) was what finally persuaded the guy to take a deal - he finally realized a trial wouldn't be in his own best interests.

I'm tempted to say "that's the last time I'll wait around for the police after an accident...!", and joke about no good deed going unpunished, but really, I did what I was supposed to do. And if/when the situation comes up again, I'll likely do the same thing.

(Actually, today, on the way home from Weight Watchers, I happened across a pretty fresh accident on Highland, and breathed a sigh of relief that I hadn't gotten there a moment or two earlier...)

The other bit of good news is that there's been another flurry of checks in the mail!

In ascending order (by amount), there was a check from my SAG health plan (A refund for overpayment on a bill), another residual check for the AT&T spot, my state tax refund (Which had been delayed until California could come up with the dough), and a residual check for the Book Of Inside Information infomercial.

All together, they total $745 and change (Which is basically a month's rent, my land-line bill, and a cheap movie in Los Feliz. Though I do owe Brett a chunk of that Book Of Inside Information money, since he submitted me for it).

It's particularly nice getting that last check - I'd never booked an infomercial before, and it was only my second AFTRA job, so I wasn't clear on the particulars concerning residuals ("Not clear" as in "Do I get residuals for this...?"); it's just a long-form commercial, so it made sense that I should get residuals, but it's AFTRA, so who knew what they might have contractually given away to the producers?

So anyway, nice to find out there's going to be some additional income from that (Impossible to know how much, but "every little bit helps", as they say), and nice to think that my work is now "out there".

(Which reminds me - I have to call the production company again, and get a dvd of the spot; I want to get it on YouTube and on my reel, and anywhere else it might do me some good!)

I'm hungry for "fresh" success, but it's nice to be reminded, with a couple checks in the mail, that's there's already been success.

I've been the right actor for the job before.

And before too long, I'll be the right actor for the job again.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!