Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:10 pm - Friday, Oct. 06, 2006
There's A Dark Cloud In Front Of Every Silver Lining

There's A Dark Cloud In Front Of Every Silver Lining

I know I've said it before, but it's hard not to feel like a week without a casting workshop, or an audition, or booking a gig, is a week wasted.

This week there have been no casting workshops. No auditions. No gigs.

I have a commercial audition on Monday (For Microsoft).

I have a casting workshop on Wednesday.

And I have the Bahamas tourism commercial shoot the following week (As of this writing, I still don't know what day that's gonna shoot. There's just a shooting "window"--Sometime between Monday and Wednesday that week--with a wardrobe fitting next Friday).

It bothers me that I feel that way--that a week is "wasted" without some acting thing happening--but I do.

I think it's important, in the days and weeks and months and years ahead, that I figure out how not to feel that way. Cause barring the most stratospheric of careers, I'm going to be spending a lot more of my life not acting than I am acting.

Speaking of time spent "not acting", I have to start getting ready for work shortly (I'm going in at 5:00 today, usher-greeting in the Dome).

In happy acting-related news, I got my Nip/Tuck check yesterday (I deposited it earlier this afternoon).

I don't typically pay much attention to how much goes to taxes when I get my ArcLight check, but I was stunned when I got the Nip/Tuck check; with overtime and a couple of meal penalties, I made over $4150 for the job, but netted only $2400 and change.

And that $2400 is not counting Brett's cut (Which I don't begrudge him at all. He's been working his ass off on my behalf).

On the plus side, after taxes and Brett's cut, it's still about what I make in three months at the theater, and it will definitely help make life easier for awhile.

But I'm going to have to book a lot more often if I want to make an actual living at this.

I've gotta go, so I'll have to save seeing "the dark cloud in front of every silver lining" for later...

 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!