Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 a.m. - Sun 12/9/07
My \"Worst Case Scenario\": A World With Less TV

My "Worst Case Scenario": A World With Less TV

I was just writing an entry about the WGA Strike (Talks have broken off again, and the two sides seem more acrimonious than ever), and I felt myself spiraling out-of-control with fearful, "worst case scenarios".

Long story short, I don't want 2008 to be over before it's begun (But by the same token, I don't want the WGA to knuckle under and accept a bad deal, because if the producers succeed in screwing the writers, you know the actors are next).

_________________________

The other side of this strike business is how it effects me as an tv viewer.

I love "my stories". They give me something to look forward to, and ease my psychic pain.

Anyway...Earlier today, I was on the TV Guide website, checking out a list of shows, and how many new episodes they have "in the can".

Most of my faves will have, at best, two or three new episodes left when the new year begins.

But there are a few relative bright spots; Boston Legal has 6 new episodes, Scrubs has 5, Friday Night Lights has 7, Lost has 8, and The Shield has its full 8th-and-final, 13-episode season ready to go.

Between those, cable shows like The Closer, Monk, Psych, etc., and various dribs-and-drabs of movies on tv and (I feel disloyal for writing this) "reality shows", I can probably muddle through for a time.

(Regarding "reality"; most of it sucks, and sucks hard. But every so often there's something - Jon & Kate Plus Eight recently captured my interest - that doesn't make you feel dirty and cheap for having watched it.)

And of course, I guess I could read more, work on my harmonica playing, stuff like that.

(But knowing me, that seems pretty unlikely. A more realistic scenario in a "A World Without TV", or even "A World With Less TV", is that there'd just be more web-surfing, sleeping, eating, and joyless self-abuse.)

But I hope it doesn't come to that.

Let's all hope for a quick and happy resolution to this strike situation, shall we?

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!