Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 a.m. - WED 4/18/01
Tuesday 4/17/01. NOT a day for the record books
I don't have a whole lot of time, but am feeling the need to say a little something...

Boy did yesterday SUCK!

I thought, since I had all day, that I'd do a little "test run" to the place where "Camelot" auditions were being held, to make sure I didn't get lost when the time came.

I got lost during the test run.

I was about six directions into my fifteen direction instructions, and I think I missed merging onto the highway I needed to get on, and suddenly was driving away from Greater LA at a high rate of speed ( For a while, I didn't know if I was going TOWARDS LA or AWAY from it. That's how lost I was ). And I had forgotten my cell phone, so I couldn't even call Chris or Cary for directions.

Quickly, the issue for me became just getting back home. And somehow, I figured it out ( I think when I started seeing a lot of highway signs for other major cities I got a clue ). But even as I moved back towards LA, I still had problems galore ( At one point, I was so disoriented, I drove the wrong way on a one-way street for about a block ).

So basically, it took me about 2 and a half hours to fail to get to a place that should have taken less than an hour's round trip.

I was discouraged.

So I called Chris, and I called the audition contact number and firmed up my sense of the directions ( My afternoon jaunt was trying to use the directions I got off Mapquest; I also had a very different set of directions that had been given to my by the person I talked to at the audition number ).

When I talked to Marge, the audition contact, I got my second discouragement of the day; I found out the "pay" for "Camelot" would be a $150 stipend for the whole thing ( From rehearsals starting on the 29th to the final performance on June 17th ).

I was hugely disappointed about that. Earlier in the day, I had been mentally preparing myself for the disappointment of it probably not being for very much money--I was envisioning maybe $50 for rehearsal weeks, $100 for shows, something along those lines, and thought "I could live with that"--but I wasn't prepared to hear that it would MAYBE cover gas money for going back and forth.

Well, this tale of woe is not finished, but I have to get to work...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!