Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:33 pm - Sat 5.17.2008
Don't Approve Of Same-Sex Marriages? Then Don't HAVE One.

Don't Approve Of Same-Sex Marriages? Then Don't HAVE One

Instead of doing this, I should be on my way to a casting workshop.

But both workshops today were canceled due to "lack of interest".

It's a worrisome development.

____________________

Well, in addition to this past Thursday being my birthday, there was another earthshaking event that day I haven't written about; the California Supreme Court overturned the state's ban on same-sex marriages.

While, unlike most things I write about, this has no direct impact on moi, I was quite pleased with that verdict(Especially since it came from a very conservative court).

Legally banning same-sex marriage is clearly discriminatory and unconstitutional, making gays and lesbians into second-class citizens, and it shouldn't be "the law of the land" anywhere in the land.

It is, in a word, wrong. It's wrong legally, and it's wrong morally.

Frankly, it's un-American.

Of course, this is not going to be the end of it - now there'll be a push to put a same-sex marriage ban on the ballot - but I hope that, ultimately, the ruling will stick; it's nice, every so often, to have your government do something you can agree with and be proud of.

(And I hope, if/when it does end up on a ballot, I'll have the opportunity to be proud of my fellow citizens as well.)

____________________

While getting ready for work yesterday, the postman knocked on my door, with a birthday package from Mark and Jane.

It was "a day late" but definitely not "a dollar short": Along with a box of microwave popcorn (in 100-calorie "mini-bags"), and a $50 g.c. from Target, there were four dvds of plays I did back in Lansing, that she'd had transferred from videos (Coming Attractions, Man Of LaMancha, Emma's Child, and Lend Me A Tenor).

If you're a regular reader, you might recall that, not too long ago, my friend Kevin sent me videos of a number of plays I did back in Lansing (He'd been storing them for me, along with various other junk, ever since I moved out here), but when I received them, the tapes had degraded with age; the sound was gone on all but one tape, which was very disappointing.

Three of the four dvds Jane sent were amongst the "lost tapes" (and Coming Attractions, an ancient artifact from 1985, will be a welcome addition to my collection).

Thanks Jane!

And a short time ago, I got a card from Margaret Z., with a nice birthday check.

(I was relieved to get Margaret's card, not so much to get the money - which is always nice, mind you - but just to know that's she's all right.)

Well, again there's much more I want to write about, but I've run out of time...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!