Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 am - Mon 12/18/06
More Shop Talk

More Shop Talk

My last workshop of the year was on Saturday, with Helen Geier, who's a casting associate in the office that does Bones and Shark (She's the "point person" on Shark; I've also had a workshop with the "point person" for Bones).

She gave out scenes from the two shows, and it was great fun (I enjoyed my scene from Shark--I played a father whose son was in prison for killing a child--and enjoyed watching the other scenes as well. Though it's hard for me to see a good scene without thinking "Oh, I want to do that one too...!"). It got me hot for getting on one--or both--shows, the scenes were just so juicy.

(Roles being equal, if I had to choose, I think I'd want to be on Bones, because I've watched that show a number of times. Though there's also something to be said for Shark, and getting to act opposite James Woods. But anyway...)

I don't have an official count yet, but at this point, I'm sure I've done at least a hundred workshops in the past year-and-a-half since signing on at ACG.

I don't know if I've "hit a wall" yet, but I worry about it.

I don't mean "hitting a wall" in terms of burning out on doing workshops, but rather, that I'll reach a point where I've been seen, sometimes more than once, by any office casting shows I might reasonably hope to get on.
But I guess I'll cross that bridge if and when I come to it.

Yesterday, the AMG (Actor Management Group) had a little meeting/holiday get-together(At Miceli's, an Italian restaurant down the street from ACG). When it was first planned, I felt a little bummed, because I work Sunday nights and thought I wasn't going to be able to stay long. But happily, I was able to hang out almost two hours, getting a ride to ArcLight with Bobby R.

Jen W. has been the AMG superstar--booking ten gigs this year--but about half the group booked things in the past year, so there was a lot to cheer about, and the mood was, by and large, pretty celebratory and hopeful.

_________________________

Another thing to feel "celebratory" about is that my commercial started running last Monday.

(If you haven't seen it yet, and want to, it's also online at "Bahamavention.com"; to get to it, click on "Success Stories". I'm "Monte".)

Maybe a dozen or so people have reported seeing it so far (I've gotten reports from my coworkers here in LA, from friends back in Michigan, and just today from Lauren in Seattle).

It seems to be airing on cable right now, which is a little worrying--I want national network prime-time exposure (And $$$)--but I vaguely remember someone saying it was going to start on cable, then go national. I hope so, in any case--I'd like this to still be running, and making money for me, when I book some more gigs in '07.

That's basically my way out of ArcLight, which is one of my big goals for the coming year.

But I'm not quite ready to do my big "Year End Wrap-Up" quite yet, so I think I'm going to wrap this up, and try to get out at least a couple Xmas cards today...

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!