Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:50:40 - 2000-12-11
A snow-covered world
It's been snowing all day today ( We're supposed to get 7-14 inches before it's through. From the way it's been going, I'm guessing we're going to get closer to the 14 than the 7 ).

"Oliver" rehearsal was cancelled this evening. This was the rehearsal they'd already had to reconfigure because of my conflict ( I was scheduled to go in to work for five hours this evening, but when I got home from lunch at Mark and Jane's, I called work to see if they thought they'd actually need the extra person; They didn't ).

We've had very mild winters for the past couple years. Somehow, I hadn't really thought of it that way--I thought I was just finally getting acclimated to Michigan weather ( I'm originally from West Virginia )--but this is an "old school" Michigan winter. And it's the kind of winter day that makes me glad I'll soon be wintering in sunny LA.

Actually, I'm not minding this all that much. Truth to tell, I wouldn't mind getting snowed in, if I had a little more food in the fridge ( Right now, I have bread, peanut butter and jelly, six cans of Slimfast, and a couple of apples ). But I live right on the main drag, so I'm not likely to be able to use that as an excuse to call in to work tomorrow ( Even if I couldn't get out of the parking lot, which is a possibility, I'm right by the bus stop ).

I called Kevin earlier this evening, to see if he was still alive. He was ( He seemed pleased, and somewhat amused, that I'd called ). He turned his monitor-thingie in today, but it'll be another day or so before he gets any word on what the deal is, or if he needs to have more tests, so there really wasn't much to say.

I chatted with Chris S. briefly this morning ( And even more briefly this evening. That's pretty much how chats on the computer go with Chris; I have a feeling that, unlike me, he has more important things to do than fuck around on the computer all the time ).

He got a bit in a national commercial, for Priceline.com, as a "masseur" ( I think he said the script specified "Huge Masseur" ), which shot this morning. He didn't know exactly what he was making from it, but he assumed it was sag minimum--whatever that is right now--plus residuals, assuming Priceline makes it through its current financial troubles intact.

( This snow is amazing--It just keeps going and going! I can't remember the last time we had a storm like this. )

Chris and his Priceline commercial gig makes me think about how much acting I get to do here, and by comparison, how little acting Chris has gotten to do out in LA. I kid around a lot about how, when I get out there, I'll go from wanting to do a movie with Julia Roberts, to being thrilled over getting a gig as "Hemorrhoid Sufferer #3" in a Preparation H commercial, but that's probably not going to seem like such a big joke when I get out there.

But again, I can't let the fact that I'm going to struggle to get ANYTHING going out there stop me from doing what I want to do; If I have to be "Hemorrhoid Sufferer #3" to start out, I'm going to be the most convincing hemorrhoid sufferer you've ever seen! It's just a matter of hanging on, being persistent and keeping the faith, until you get the chance to take something and run with it.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!